Starts With Gratitude, Ends With Colbert

Tonight I experienced almost an hour of calm gratitude accompanied by a 92.6% decrease of ego. Then I got compliments and completely gave the glory to God. Then I thought how great it was that God found me worthy to be a channel of his Grace. Is this really me??

That was Facebook.  Here, I have no length constraints, but I’m so much farther from the incident that I almost feel like I can’t add to that.  Needless to say the experience was delivering my story at an AA meeting.

God expects me to serve “my fellow man” every day; and I have long lamented that I have wasted my gifts.  I even thought I was justifying my inaction by thinking about my service to AA.  But tonight I felt:  If this were the only thing I did, in some way it would — I started to say be enough.  But it isn’t.  I know that.  But it’s the Grace of God that I have carried the message for twenty-seven years.

And I know that what I do is just as important as what Stephen Colbert does.

Published in: on April 13, 2011 at 9:17 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bentleybooks.wordpress.com/2011/04/13/starts-with-gratitude-ends-with-colbert/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

