Why I Fought for Gay Rights

Copied from a message board I belong to, after viewing a “montage”  fan video of Stephen Colbert and Paul Dinello in their roles as closeted gay lovers in the show Strangers With Candy. 

Can I be real here?  I cried and cried over this.  Not for the reasons I should, but in bitter anger at men who lie and decieve us, promise us lives of partnership, bend over backward to “please” faithful women, even give us children, then suddenly PULL THE RUG OUT and leave us broken and stripped and wounded and gushing the blood of our souls and expect us to say, “Oh, how wonderful that you no longer have to live a lie!”  NO!  YOU BASTARD!  Where is my husband?  Is he in there at all?

This is why gay men and women need to come out. You hear a lot about what they have to deal with, but nothing about the people they take as hostages while running in terror from what they’ve learned.  The more people come out, the more “normal” it will seem to our gay children who come after us.  Maybe our kids won’t make the mistakes we did.

Like everything else, I believe one way to deal with this is laughter.  I insist on laughing at things, tragic and ridiculous alike.  But the juxtaposition of the image of Mr. Noblet crying on his desk with words like this —   

My body is a cage that keeps me
From dancing with the one I love 
. . .  I’m living in an age
That screams my name at night
But when I get to the doorway
There’s no one in sight

— was just too fucking much to bear.

Published in: on April 28, 2011 at 11:52 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bentleybooks.wordpress.com/2011/04/28/fan-vid-reaction/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

