The Last Cheater’s Waltz

Ooh, don’t they play lonely/ Ohh, don’t they play sad/ And ooh, three-quarter only/ See how he holds her as the band plays the Last Cheater’s Waltz.

Sometimes when this song comes up I get up and waltz all alone; it’s bittersweet.  And I miss Dan and think on my sins and wonder if I will ever be truly shrieved.  I want to believe that the way I”ve lived since Larry’s death justifies me.  I am wearing his ring again, but only because it’s a pretty ring and I was tired of wearing an engagement ring that stands out by the fact that it’s alone.  As strange as it may seem, I am right now also wearing Larry’s reading glasses.  (Because I’ve lost mine.)  But look what I have on my desktop.  What if I am cheating on Dan in my heart?

 

Published in: on June 11, 2011 at 9:52 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bentleybooks.wordpress.com/2011/06/11/the-last-cheaters-waltz/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

